Skip to content

Album Review: “Growing Up Is Getting Old” by Jason Michael Carroll

May 2, 2009

Growing Up Is Getting Old cover3.5 Stars

 

Jason Michael Carroll’s sophomore album, which he considers a career making project, Is definitely an interesting one to say the least. The long haired “Alyssa Lies” singer attempts to follow up his debut album with a project of more casual tunes that attempt to capture that same majesty his debut album provided, but how well does it work?

Carroll’s second album falls a little short of the quality of his debut project, a common ailment for sophomore albums, for one huge reason. This time around Carroll is much more in tune with radio friendly and saleable material more than just simply good material. This is evident through his first offering from the album “Where I’m From” which offers a popular and relative subject matter without the accuracy of a great piece of songwriting to back it up. However, this seems to be a rather common downfall for even the most experienced artists these days, i.e. Keith Urban, so it would be foolish and unfair to judge this album purely on this factor alone.

Another significant ailment that plagues Carroll’s second album is its lack of flow and consistency. His debut project contained a decent and actually attractive flow from song to song that kept the listener tightly wound around what was happening in every song and the emotional roller coaster it was at times. This album is not as entangling. While it does contain some very powerful material and some rather enjoyable entertainment quality songs, the middle of the project specifically lacks much of a connection to the rest of the project which leaves it scattered at times and causes the listener to lose interest in some parts.

While the opening track “Happened On Saturday Night” proves to be a stage song worthy of every moment, “That’s All I Know” falls under the radar and fails to hold itself up or hang strong enough to helps the material before it guard it from that “next” button on the CD player.

There I’ve said my negativity’s, but other than that there’s pretty much nothing that degrades Carroll’s further attempts to solidify his position as a lasting country artist. He continues to build on his strength as a balladeer with the powerful “Tears” and “Hurry Home” while also showing off his entertainment quality and wild side with “Growing Up Is Getting Old” and “Barn Burner”. So pretty much every angle of Carroll’s talent as both a singer and an entertainer is represented in this project as well as some songwriting which, in my opinion, might need a little more practice.

Jason Michael Carroll’s follow up to his smash debut project may not be as good, but it’s not so far off that it’s worth not buying. If you loved his debut album, this one’s also a keeper. As a contemporary country artist, Carroll has what it takes to really shine in this business and he shows a lot of growth and maturity in almost every aspect of this project. he’s more relaxed, casual, and, most of all, more himself in this album which is a plus. However, he has sacrificed that spot on effect and flow of both the writing and overall presentation for the sake of this more relaxed and casual presentation. Overall Growing Up Is Getting Old is a relatively enjoyable project that will hopefully continue the success of one of the genre’s brightest stars and provide him even more room for growth as time goes on.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. diehard JMC fan from NC permalink
    May 4, 2009 2:59 pm

    Wow, this writer must be a big fan of Taylor Swift, who in my opinion & that of several local DJ’s can NOT sing live. Jason Michael Carroll has more talent in his pinkie finger than Taylor Swift could ever dream of having. She is a studio singer. But she is a hit with the kids. He is a true country talent, he can sing live, puts out great songs, & is an entertainer. This writer must not know the following JMC has, just go to one of his concerts – in fact he did a benefit show this past Saturday & doing another one this Thursday. Jason sings & writes about everyday things that happen in most of our lives or either sings about things we need to be more aware of such as “Alyssa Lies”. “Where I’m From” is my song, it fits me & my family – my parents have been together 40 years, I have my grandmother’s maiden name, our friends are there no matter when we call, we drive a ford truck (& a GMC) they are both green. “Growing Up Is Getting Old” is my husband’s song, every line is him. I was told to be nice, so I’m sure I speak for thousands of people – cowboybleau – get a life!

  2. Janine Mason permalink
    May 4, 2009 3:51 pm

    I am a JMC fan…and…can respect your review although I don’t agree with all of it!! I have not taken “Growing up is getting old” out of my cd player since it arrived..and won’t be anytime soon!! I would love for you to ATTEND one of his shows!!! TO me JMC is awesome b/c his CD’s are great..but him live in person is AWESOME..which is more than what you can expect from a lot of the bigger names!!! My husband even LOVES him…which is a lot to say! LOL..my husband has never had any desire to follow any singer..and JMC has hit the spot!!! PLEASE ATTEND HIS SHOW…and then give another review!!

  3. cowboybleau permalink*
    May 4, 2009 5:32 pm

    Ok, so first off for “diehard JMC fan from NC”, where did Taylor Swift come into this. There is not only place in this review I even remotly relate him to Swift or bash his ability as a stage or recording artist whatsoevger. I found his debut album to be my favorite of that year, I just saw this one as one step down is all, nothing extreme considering the other bashing reviews that fail toe evn hit three stars that I have read on other sites. You want to complain to someone about disrespect for JMC, complain to them not me.

    Second of all, I am a HUGE JMC fan. This review is based off of my personal opions and I do respect yours but bashing me for my thoughts its no better than what you think I do. I kept it clean, as I always try to do, because I kept it unbiased as a fan and a reviewer.

    For the record to you both, I HAVE seen JMC live. He’s great, one of the best I’ve ever been. However, his performance value in a show does not make this album automatically perfect. I have listened to it a lot, I’ve enjoyed it and will continue to, I just enjoy his debut album better is all this review it trying to say so don’t turn it around and make it a personal attack on a great artist, it never has been and for any other artist I review it never will be.

  4. September 5, 2011 10:18 pm

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite reason appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they just do not know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

Leave a comment