Skip to content

Single Review: “Roll With Me” by Montgomery Gentry

July 21, 2008

It may be the fact that I am part of today’s younger crowd, but I actually find the lingo used throughout this song to be very uplifting and relative. That is what shines for the second single off of MG’s new album Back When I Knew It All. The song has Troy singing through the persona of a man who seems to have come to terms with life and is believes it’s time to push on and enjoy what he has, this includes him asking his significant other or maybe even a close friend or family member to roll with him, meaning come along with him for the ride.

This song contains a very inspirational backbone and although it may come off as a little cliche for some, the writing is actually quite appropriate and relates to a younger crowd of fans who will eventually make up the dominant fan base of the genre. Kudos to the boys for spreading an inspirational message with a simple and peaceful feel to it and at the same time making it relative and understandable to young and old audiences alike.

Grade: B+

Listen: www.myspace.com/montgomerygentry

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Leeann permalink
    July 21, 2008 3:26 pm

    I’m actually almost okay with the “Roll With Me” line, but I’m pretty confused about the “I’m thinking it’s time to be livin’ the rhyme/When I’m singing a song about nothing but right” lines.

    Furthermore, it’s like hearing my dad say something like “It’d sure be nice if you’d roll with me.” I’d just have to laugh. And Montgomery Gentry are probably my dad’s age.

Trackbacks

  1. Montgomery Gentry - Didn’t I - Video | countryfannetwork.com
  2. Congratulations | PureCountryMusic.Com Blog

Leave a Reply

