Skip to content

Single Review: “Don’t Think I Don’t Think About It” by Darius Rucker

May 4, 2008

Now this is exciting. The lead singer of Oone of the greatest pop bands of all time lends his voice to country music to cross yet another musical boundary. Many may recognize Mr. Rucker as the lead singer of Hootie & The Blowfish and his trademark vocal sound has followed him all this way. It’s impressive how Darius can adapt his pop vocals to a solid country sound almost effortlessly and flawlessly. This tune preserves the vocal style that he has in his band, but it doesn’t preserve the bands sound, generally a good thing. He’s not trying to use the music that put him in the spotlight to make it in country music, instead he has adapted himself to the genre and becomes a country artist, not some crossover fad.

This song is your classic country song of personal regret and haunting memories. Darius takes the persona of a man who left his girl behind and is now looking back on the choices he made. He shows little disappointment for his choice, but instead has a sense of understanding and acceptance that what he did was the wrong thing to do and he’ll never get the chance to make up for it. The name of the song is an interesting play on words as Darius shows two situation, him looking back in his rear view and him considering what might have been when thinking of his ex’s wedding, to which he states “Don’t think I don’t think about it/ Don’t think I don’t have regrets”. He attempts to install a sense of understanding in his ex and in the listener as to how he feels about what he did despite how easy it seemed to be for him to run away and how heartless he seemed to be at that time. He continues to look back and think to himself about how things could have been if he just turned around and faced what he ran away from.

No doubt this song will stir some musical controversy about cross-genre performances and probably earn a lot of bad remarks. However I think it’s a solid tune. Maybe not as attractive as some of today’s traditional and neo-traditional stuff, but it avoids the mistakes that caused the likes of Bon Jovi and Kelly Clarkson to earn some nasty comments from the critics. Instead of mixing pop and country, Darius moves more towards a solid country sound that actually works quite well for him. That being siad this might actually go over quite well and I think Darius will fit right in.

Listen: www.myspace.com/dariusrucker

Grade: B+ 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 5, 2008 3:23 pm

    Do you know if this is the same song Bobby Pinson wrote and recorded?

  2. cowboybleau permalink*
    May 6, 2008 12:04 am

    I did do research in that before the review Jordan out of interest and it doesn’t appear to be.

  3. May 6, 2008 4:32 pm

    Oh well I was hoping it was, because I haven’t heard Darius’ song yet.

  4. October 15, 2008 10:05 pm

    HELLO I’M 45th YEARS OLD NOW I BEING LISTEN TO ALL KIND OF MUSIC AS A LITTLE GIRL, I WAS ABOUT TURNING 9th YEARS OLD WHEN I GOT INTO COUNTRY SONG. MY KIDS THINK THAT I’M CRAZY BECAUSE I LOVE MY MUSIC FROM MORNING THOUGH NIGHT, I FIND OUT THAT EVERY SINGER HAVE A
    DELINEATE SOUND TO THERE SONG, IT MEAN THAT THE WAY IT SOUND IS PERFECT FOR THERE VOICE, WHEN YOU SING I COULD FEEL THE WAY THE SONG GO AND IT TOUCH ME IN A WAY THAT I START TO CRY BECAUSE IT SO DARN GOOD THAT I JUST GO WITH THE FLOW. I DON’T SING. BUT I ALWAYS WISH I COULD BUT YOUR SONG IT VERY BEAUTIFUL TO ME, AND I HOPE I BE AROUND LONG ENOUGH TO HEAR MORE BEAUTIFUL SONG FROM ALL THE SINGER, I KNOW JUST HAVE TO LIVE MY LIFE BUT WITH ALL MY ILLNESS ALL I COULD DO IT PRAY AND WAIT BUT LIFE IT TO SHORT FOR ME TO WASTE IT, I HAVE FOUR BEAUTIFUL KIDS AND FOUR BEAUTIFUL GRAND KIDS, AND A LOVELY CANADIAN HUSBAND WHO LOVES ME FOR THE 21TH YEARS TOGETHER WE ALWAYS MANAGE TO MAKE IT THOUGH, BUT MY FAMILY KNOW ME I’M STRONG IT BECAUSE OF THAN AND THE SONG I HEAR, THAT WHY I TELL MY FAMILY DON’T TAKE LIFE FOR GRANTED, BE HAPPY WITH WHAT YOU HAVE, A ROOF OVER YOUR HEAD, CLOTHES ON YOUR BACK, FOOD ON THE TABLE, AND NOT TO ASK FOR MORE THAN WHAT THEY HAVE, BECAUSE I ALWAYS SAID WHEN YOU DIE YOU NOT TAKING ANYTHING WITH YOU, SO BE HAPPY, THEY KNOW BUT THEY DON’T WANT TO SEE ME SICK HEY THAT LIFE IT COME WITH THE PACKED,SO FOR ME I JUST SAID I’M OK I NOT READY TO CLIMB THE LADDER I WANT TO BE HERE WITH MY LOVES ONE UNTIL THAN SO MUSIC MAKE ME FEEL GOOD AND I LOVE TO HEAR IT LOT, SO DON’T EVER STOP DOING WHAT YOU LIKE TO DO BECAUSE IT DOES HEAL ME AND MY SOUL. SO THANK YOU ALL VERY MUCH FOR THAT. MRS XIOMARA FAITH CHEFF

  5. December 24, 2010 4:17 am

    Fantastic Post. Truly it will help good deal of persons. Thanks for that post.

  6. January 16, 2011 7:39 pm

    Hello. impressive job. I did not anticipate this. This is a very good article. Thanks!

Leave a comment