Skip to content

Single Review: “How Do I” by The Drew Davis Band

May 1, 2008

The latest band to make its mark through the poorly conceived Lofton Creek Records brings in a slow and powerful balled about a man trying to figure out how to move on after a breakup. Many problems with this song. I’m all for the emotion and power in these kinds of songs, in fact they are some of my favorites, but this is way to much. With all due respect to the great and surprising vocals of the lead singer, presumably Drew Davis, the entire song is way over the top. It tells the story of a man who has recently undergone a breakup with his girl and is now wondering how he can move on as well as she probably will, but it comes off way to hard.

While the song is nice, it is over-produced and over-expressed. It sounds way to whiny and all over the place. I don’t know if that’s Lofton Creek or the band, but something needs to adjust. Overall it’s a decent song that gets a nice and powerful message across. In fact as far as the song itself it sounds pretty traditional and adds a familiar sense of heartbreak and passion to the genre. However, the vocals are way over the top and the whole thing comes off as overdone and sobbish. Sure it needs power and emotion, but the amount put into it makes it sound to disorganized and submissive almost like a karaoke performance from a heartbroken man at a bar with a decent voice. Call me Simon, but “sorry”. While most songs need a little more to make it in, this song gives way to much, so much that it kinda spoils the whole experience a bit.

listen: www.myspace.com/drewdavisband

Grade: C-

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    May 2, 2008 5:01 pm

    If you’re going to be a critic, you should at least know a certain amount of grammar. For heaven’s sake it’s TOO not “to” as in “too much.” And the redundancy of this review… stop repeating yourself!

    As far as the single is concerned, I disagree with you completely. “How Do I” is a fantastic power ballad. I’d give it an A-.

    In terms of Lofton Creek being “poorly conceived,” I completely agree with you. Are they even out there promoting their artists? I never hear about any of them (or their songs on the radio)!

  2. cowboybleau permalink*
    May 2, 2008 7:39 pm

    Thanks for your input “Anonymous” and I’ll be sure to simplify it next time.

    But for arguments sake, if YOU are gonna criticize ME then don’t hide behind a nameless alias. I believe the song is way over the top, you are certainly privileged to your opinion and I respect and enjoy that, however accusing my of faulty aspects in my criticisms is a little outrageous considering you won’t even reveal who you are. Oh and the “redundancy” is to ensure the understanding of the main point. I do the same thing in my Top 50 State Songs posts which are set up more like miniature thesis essays. I want to ensure an understanding, understand?

  3. May 3, 2008 5:00 am

    I like your site. But “anonymous” beat me to the punch about your grammar. I’ve seen you write “to” for “too” several times. And even in your response to “anonymous” you wrote “my” instead of “me.” The mistakes make it more challenging to read your posts, y’know?

  4. cowboybleau permalink*
    May 3, 2008 4:01 pm

    I did read through a few of my other posts Russ and I did catch the “to” instead of “too” is quite a few of them and other small grammar problems. I’ll be sure to look things over much more thoroughly from now on. I guess I keep missing the very tiny flaws in them. If that is what anonymous was pointing out I apologize for the attitude. Be a little more polite about it next time.

Leave a comment