Skip to content

Single Review: “You Belong With Me” by Taylor Swift

April 13, 2009

OK, so I’ll be the first to admit that I’ve been harsh on the teenage crowd of singers like Taylor and Miley. ironic actually, due to the fact that I myself am only 19. However, Swift has continuously proven me wrong as to the quality and maturity that stars of her caliber actually have, and she does so once again.

In her follow up to “White Horse”, Taylor takes a more upbeat look at love as she instead decides to try and sway over the man, not push him away. Speaking through her teenage experience as a high school outcast, Swift takes the character of a teenage girl watching the man of her dreams with the girl of her nightmares, but instead of burning pictures or crying about it she relates herself to the other girl who is in the more popular and opposing click to Swift’s. Using this information she explains to the boy that he belongs with her, the one who knows him, cares about him, and wants him not as a trophy, but as a truly dedicated significant other.

Not only does Swift write it, perform it, and play it masterfully, but she makes it real and, to a certain extent, entertaining in a way both comically and musically. Taylor may have her down moments where she relates more to a 10 year old pop fan than her original country music fan base, and grated she’s been in more Rolling Stone issues than any country magazine, but it’s moments like this that remind us why she is so successful, and why she actually does deserve a lot of the credit she has been getting lately. Love her or hate her, she knows what she’s doing.

Final Say: Flawless

11 Comments leave one →
  1. gloria permalink
    April 14, 2009 1:28 pm

    I heard this song for the first time last night and I thought, at first, who is this trying to sing?? Then I realized it was Taylor! Silly little girl singing a silly little song! Don’t hear anything great about it! But then again I’m a lot older and it does nothing for me!

  2. countrygirl permalink
    April 17, 2009 3:45 am

    Why did she put this song out? If she wanted an upbeat song to put out next why didnt she put out “Fearless”? I like this song but I LOVE fearless.

  3. countryfan2009 permalink
    April 24, 2009 6:38 pm

    I’m 18 years old and I still think that Taylor’s songs are too young for me. Although they deal with topics that are related to teenagers, they just seem too superficial to me. I think that she should mature in her songwriting and singing and release more mature singles.

  4. Kat permalink
    May 6, 2009 6:42 pm

    I think this song is great. I am 19 and i can easily relate to this song. Yeah i have a boyfriend, but this song makes me think back to when I thought guys were with the wrong girls. Besides teens should be worried about stuff like that instead of takin care of children and who they are gonna have sex with tonight…

  5. Michelle permalink
    August 2, 2009 1:12 am

    I love this song so much because I can relate to it and the meaning is clearly express through Taylor’s several comparisons and emotional statements. Go, Taylor!

  6. Tom permalink
    September 15, 2009 2:54 am

    This song is much deeper for me. Think of God being the character expressing His love for us. It’s really meaningful listening to it that way.

  7. nOnE oF yOuR bUsSiNeSs permalink
    December 16, 2009 10:13 pm

    I LOVE HER EVERYONE WHO SAID THAT THEY DONT R JEALOUS B****HS

  8. GalPal permalink
    April 7, 2010 10:39 pm

    OMG! “This song is much deeper for me. Think of God being the character expressing His love for us. It’s really meaningful listening to it that way”-Tom you need to run to church and beg for forgiveness. I can’t believe you would use the Lord’s name like that! Taylor can’t sing and it’s evident that you must be tone deaf and not very religous-

  9. Xoxo76 permalink
    November 7, 2011 10:01 am

    this is for Grant her lead guitar player i’ve read it on twitter .she was inspired to write this when she overheard grant getting chewed by his girlfriend.

  10. Marian permalink
    May 17, 2012 1:18 am

    It’s strange. The song is about my life sortta. Because my best friend since Preschool is dating the Cheer captian who is the queen of girlyness. And he didn’t even give me a chance to tell him that I like him. But he tells me everything. :(. Now they’re fighting because he would not do her homework for her.
    Wow I didn’t notice it was that alike to my life…

  11. Anonymous permalink
    December 27, 2012 6:39 am

    I LOVE THIS SONG! I can definitely relate to it right now. It’s kinda creepy because this is exactly what my current situation is.

Leave a Reply

