Skip to content

Grammy Awards Results and Review

February 9, 2009

GrammysWell  was wrong on almost all of my predictions this year. However, the 2009 Grammy Awards were actually pretty well done. Save for a few performances, the entire show was worth the good watch. I actually surprised myself with how much I’ve branched out in the past year to other genres and how much respect I’ve learned to show for the other awards given out. So here is my review, followed by a list of winner in comparison to my picks.

 

Performances: I thought the night started of a little rocky. The sound was off for both Cold Play and U2, but they managed to pull it together. Carrie, the night’s first country performer, not so much. Her performance of “Last Name” was surprisingly off last night in more ways than one. Taylor Swift showed that she’s certainly growing up with her critically acclaimed song “Fifteen” which she paired with Miley Cyrus to sing. Not only did Taylor earn a lot of brownie points in comparison to the off key performance by Cyrus, but she actually did a pretty good job for a change. When it’s just her and her guitar sitting there enjoying the moment and keeping it simple she actually does well and reminds us that she really is a great talent. Kenny Chesney also impressed last night with a sincere and on the dot rendition of his recent #1 hit “Better As A Memory” and Sugarland pulled off a huge performance of “Stay” also quite impressively. Alison Krauss joined Robert Plant for a medley of their duet songs from their Album of the Year winning project which was also a presentation to be proud of.

 

Awards: I was actually quite surprised by some of the choices this year. Other than Sugarland’s wins many of the awards were either typical of Grammy votes or typical when popularity is considered. Probably the biggest disappointment is Jamey Johnson being shut out this year. I was sure the Grammy’s would jump at the chance to give him an award especially after they jumped on Loretta’s album a few years back. Plant and Krauss represented well though, dominating in their five categories and giving country music another Album of the Year win. Congrats to Strait as well for hitting another career milestone by winning his first ever Grammy and it was for Country Album of the Year.

 

Winners: OK, so here are this year’s winners in relation to my picks. I was quite off this year, but maybe next time I’ll be more considerate of how popularity will play into the game rather than perfection and talent alone.

 

Best Female Country Vocal Performance

  • “For These Times” – Martina McBride
  • “What I Cannot Change” – LeAnn Rimes (my pick)
  • “Last Name” – Carrie Underwood (winner)
  • “Last Call” – Lee Ann Womack
  • “This Is Me You’re Talking To” – Trisha Yearwood  

 

Best Male Country Vocal Performance

  • “You’re Gonna Miss This” – Trace Adkins
  • “In Color” – Jamey Johnson (my pick)
  • “Just Got Started Lovin’ You” – James Otto
  • “Letter to Me” – Brad Paisley (winner)
  • “Troubadour” – George Strait

 

Best Country Performance by a Duo or Group with Vocals

  • “God Must Be Busy” – Brooks & Dunn
  • “Love Don’t Live Here” – Lady Antebellum
  • “Every Day” – Rascal Flatts
  • “Blue Side of the Mountain” – The SteelDrivers
  • “Stay” – Sugarland (my pick and winner)

 

Best Country Collaboration with Vocals

  • “Shiftwork” – Kenny Chesney & George Strait
  • “Killing the Blues” – Robert Plant & Alison Krauss (winner)
  • “House of Cash” – George Strait & Patty Loveless
  • “Life in a Northern Town” – Sugarland, Jake Owen & Little Big Town
  • “Let the Wind Chase You” – Trisha Yearwood & Keith Urban (my pick)

 

Best Country Song

  • “Dig Two Graves” – Ashley Gorley & Bob Regan, songwriters (Randy Travis)
  • “I Saw God Today” – Rodney Clawson, Monty Criswell & Wade Kirby, songwriters (George Strait)
  • “In Color” – Jamey Johnson, Lee Thomas Miller & James Otto, songwriters (Jamey Johnson) (my pick)
  • “Stay” – Jennifer Nettles, songwriter (Sugarland) (winner)
  • “You’re Gonna Miss This” – Ashley Gorley & Lee Thomas Miller, songwriters (Trace Adkins)

 

 

Best Country Album

  • That Lonesome Song – Jamey Johnson (my pick)
  • Sleepless Nights – Patty Loveless
  • Troubadour – George Strait (winner)
  • Around the Bend – Randy Travis
  • Heaven, Heartache, and the Power of Love– Trisha Yearwood

 

 

 

Next up, the ACM Awards!!!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Blake Boldt permalink
    February 9, 2009 10:22 pm

    Chesney and Sugarland were very good indeed last night.

  2. February 11, 2009 1:37 pm

    it looks like Taylor Swift and Miley Cyrus are officially BFF’s now

  3. Gus permalink
    February 13, 2009 12:20 am

    I guess we weren’t watching the same show… I thought Carrie Underwood was impressive! In my opinion, Taylor Swift has a very weak voice-bordering off key. The hoohaa with Taylor and Miley being best friends was silly.

  4. Country Music Fan permalink
    March 23, 2009 4:42 pm

    I agree with Gus. Carrie’s performance was the highlight of the show. More prominent reviewers also gave her high marks. Swifts performance was awful. Sugarland was average.

  5. Leeann Ward permalink
    March 24, 2009 12:45 pm

    Sure, but “more prominent reviewers” also agreed with Cowboy’ Bleau’s assessment as well. So, what exactly is your point except to be rude?

  6. March 24, 2009 4:13 pm

    Thank you Leeann. I just caught the comment and was going to retaliate, but I’m glad you got here first to back me up. Also Country Music Fan, this is one reviewer. If you liked the performance so much check out The 9513, and Country Universe who agree with me and in my view are the most dependable blogs I read. My opinion may not seem like much to you, but that’s why it’s called and “opinion”.

  7. JarheadDad permalink
    March 29, 2009 1:03 am

    You seriously want someone to read a Carrie review at The 9513, Bleau? Heh! While some of the reviews are fair you had best place a warning label on the comments! With flashbangs and flares! 😉

    This is an old post. I remember disagreeing with you and the “more prominent reviewers” like Leeann and Kevin when all this was written. I actually think Miley Cyrus out sang Taylor and that put Malec into conniptions. I am biased though. I do not like artists that use the Country genre to springboard their Pop careers. That’s why Shania lost me with “Up!”. I like good music of all kinds but I don’t like manipulation of the genres. Remixing from one genre to the next is the ultimate cardinal sin in my book. Either be one or the other. Period.

    Still trying to figure out the new site. I like the look but it’s harder to go back to the older posts where I left off the last time I visited. I like to go back and work forward so I don’t miss anything but I can’t figure out how to make your archive do that. Is there any way to archive by month Bleau? No biggie if it’s a hassle. Guess I’ll just have to check in more often. There goes the neighborhood! 😮

  8. Leeann Ward permalink
    March 29, 2009 4:15 pm

    JarHeadDad, Didn’t you and Kevin agree on Carrie being good and Miley singing better than Taylor?

  9. JarheadDad permalink
    March 31, 2009 4:06 am

    You mean Kevin and I agreed on sumpthin’? Wonders never cease huh? 😮

    I don’t recall posting at CU about the show but if I did I think that was about the last time we agreed on anything come to think of it. Was that before or after the Madonna thing? Talk about polar opposites! 😉

    I was posting on the forum at The 9513 back then. I haven’t posted anywhere in a long while. Probably since then actually. I do remember Jim thought I was deaf in one ear and couldn’t hear out the other because he thinks Taylor had a great performance. I’ve never, ever heard Taylor have a good live performance let alone a great one. She does decently when she sings softly in acoustic mode but that doesn’t happen very often and I still wouldn’t call it good. Glad to see she’s doing so well on her Werld Ture. Now maybe she’ll switch to Pop where she wants to be. Wish her well in that endeavor.

    The ACMs should be interesting. Let’s see if $$$ wins out over talent. In about 7 different categories. I am lovin’ that Reba is hosting though.

    BTW, where’d Blake go? I stopped by CU when Kevin did his review of “ITYS – the live performance” and saw Blake was gone. He still bloggin’?

Leave a Reply

