Skip to content

Single Review: “Even Now” by Caitlin & Will

January 27, 2009

For fans of “Can You Duet?”, the CMT duo version of American Idol that spawned Joey + Rory, your champions have finally released their debut single. I must admit that I’m quite surprised. I didn’t follow the show to well and when I heard these two won I didn’t know what to think. They weren’t among the names made from the hype and they were out of most of the sneak peaks that CMT used to shine the duo’s in front of the TV audience to advertise the show. Further research also reveals that these two were basically forced together, having each made it to the finals alone and being placed together.

Taking that into consideration their debut single is rather impressive in a sense. Knowing nothing of their vocals or their personal tastes I was a new listener to their song and it was more than I expected it to be. These two are legit, and they are underdogs who know they need to work their way into the attention of their audience and work harder to stay their. For their first single they appropriately chose to split the vocals as a pair of broken lovers who are finally considering that through all their fighting and fusing they might finally be even after their tenure with heartbreak they caused each other, even considering that they might still be in love. The song is a pretty solid neo-traditional offering and shows off the best that these two have to offer as individuals.

That’s where this song goes wrong. While Will’s vocals are a little held back, Caitlin’s are front end center and overpowering. They both blow the song away, but in two different ways completely. They are a duo who won a show for musical duos and that’s how they will celebrate their career, at least for now. That whole partnership they brought together on the show from scratch doesn’t seem to exist here and as much as they are portraying two separated lovers they sound like two separate artists doing their own thing their own way rather than partners working together. So for the future I hope these two will show more chemistry in the studio like they must have on stage to get this far. Otherwise a pretty decent first effort from an otherwise easily looked over pair.

listen: www.myspace.com/caitlinandwill

Grade: B

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jordan Stacey permalink
    January 27, 2009 4:47 pm

    I don’t find they sound like separate artists, they sounf like they’re good together for me…

  2. Anonymous permalink
    January 27, 2009 5:22 pm

    It’s funny Jordan the more I listen to them the more I enjoy them, but I still think that Caitlin oversings it while Will should be more enthusiastic. They need to find a balance in their sound because they may be working together quite well, but it doesn’t show here as well as it should.

    Maybe its just the song, I havn’t listened to any of their other stuff, but I’ll give it a listen and if this isn’t a problem through the rest of their material then it might just be the way it was produced that shoves me off a little.

  3. January 28, 2009 2:03 am

    I don’t mean to shock you, Cowboy Bleau, but I have to agree with you here again. I think you’ve rightfully pin pointed the glaring problem with this song.This is, admittedly, the first time I’ve heard anything from this duo, but they really don’t sound like they’re together on this particular track. Not only do they not sound emotionally connected (even if they technically blend okay together), but something is off on the actual production mixing itself. I actually don’t think the mixing was done quite right or something (I’m no expert in this area). Something is just off and I think it’s possibly a technical issue. I’ll take Joey + Rory over this duo for now, though J+R is more my taste anyway.

  4. February 5, 2009 4:39 am

    Hey Cowboy, Thank you for your review of our first single!!!!!! Hopefully you will find with our other songs that I am not trying to overpower Will…We are not two lead singers anymore…we share the lead and the harmony throughout our whole album. Cant wait for you to hear it!!!!! If you so desire, we’ve got 5 other tracks up on myspace and ilike…

    For now, we will settle for a B! (I never did great in school anyway, I always averaged the B’s…but next time were shooting for an A)

    Take Care

    xoxo Caitlin

  5. cowboybleau permalink*
    February 5, 2009 5:27 pm

    Thanks Caitlin for your response here. I did actually like your other stuff, I don’t blame you two so much on this one as singers, but I blame the production more. I actually like the song. Judging by your other songs on myspace I actually think this one was the fault of those behind the scenes not you and Will and I think you guys have a lot of potential.

    I like your style. You two have great taste and great chemistry. I look forward to your debut album and I really hope this does well for you guys.

Trackbacks

  1. Beauty and the Beast | PureCountryMusic.Com Blog

Leave a Reply

