Skip to content

The Complete Collection

January 6, 2009

Long Black Train coverWell so far so good on the discussions, so here’s another one for ya. Everyone has a favorite artist. I have too many to count, it’s always changing, but I do have a list of artists that I either have or want to collect their entire collection of albums. For example I have every one of Josh Turner’s three albums and love them all. I am trying to get all of Brad Paisley’s, only missing his first two projects, and I have every Keith Urban album (including The Ranch). I’m most proud of my collection of Garth Brooks albums, only missing three right now. My biggest crossroad right now is my recent longing to try and collect all of George Strait’s albums, I’ll need some luck with that one.

So for the latest discussion I offer up this question:

What artist do you have or want to collect all of their albums?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike M. permalink
    January 6, 2009 7:04 am

    I have multiple copies of every Garth album, including “Chris Gaines” and the two Christmas ones. Not sure where they all came from, but it’s nice to have extras lying around. Not so much on the country side, but I also have every Springsteen album and every Guns n’ Roses album (“Chinese Democracy” excluded, that’s not the real GNR)

  2. January 6, 2009 3:09 pm

    Mike, My husband was quite disappointed with the G&R album too. I think he only likes one song from it.

    As far as the question at hand…where to start… We did a version of this last summer. So, this list is probably a repeat of then. I’ve bought a lot more albums since then, but I don’t know how many necessarily completed collections.

    I have the complete discographies of the following artists, though I disclude GH packages that only repeat the songs that I already own by having their complete studio collections:

    Garth Brooks
    Vince Gill
    Sara Evans
    Tracy Lawrence
    Mark Chessnutt
    Travis Tritt
    Emmylou Harris
    Randy Travis
    Alan Jackson (though I haven’t been able to force myself to purchase Like Red On A Rose)
    Joe Diffie
    Neal McCoy (who knows why)
    Patty Loveless
    Clay Walker
    Pat Green
    Dwight Yoakam
    Tim McGraw
    SHeDaisy
    Blake Shelton
    Kathy Mattea
    Aaron Watson
    …and more!

    That’s all I can think of right now. The older artists aren’t represented in this list because I tend to buy box sets or GH packages of theirs rather than all of their studio albums, for some reason. Of course, I have essentials from Dolly (I have about nine of her albums), Willie, Merle and tons from Johnny, etc. I just don’t own their complete collections.

    I should also add that I didn’t include artists with just a couple or three albums like Lambert, Turner, Underwood, Swift etc. The list would just be ridiculously long then.

  3. January 6, 2009 5:19 pm

    Mike, I forgot about the Gaines sessions, damn thats another I need.

    And damn LeeAnn…I thought I had a big collection, wow. Nice job!!

  4. January 6, 2009 6:02 pm

    I’m an obsessive music buyer. I forgot to mention these and I love these collections!:

    Todd Snider
    Chris Knight
    Alison Krauss
    Mary Chapin Carpenter
    Kellie Willis
    Bruce Robbison
    Dixie Chicks
    Jason Boland & the Stragglers
    Pam Tillis
    Radney Foster

    I’m sure I’ll be back with more.

    As for the Strait collection, good luck there. I thought about doing that as well, but he puts out an album nearly once a year…and he’s been around like almost thirty.

  5. Mike K permalink
    January 6, 2009 8:23 pm

    Great post, that is some kind of a collection Leeann. I love Todd Snider, but i am missing his two earliest albums.

    Complete Collections (some of the old ones are cassette tapes that I haven’t replaced)

    Joe Nichols
    Dierks Bentley
    Charlie and Bruce Robison
    Hayes Carll (3 CDs)
    Brad Paisley
    Kenny Chesney
    Keith Whitley

    Actively Working On:

    John Prine
    Hank Jr. (almost impossible)

    I feel your pain on the GS pursuit. I probably have 15-20 of his and there are still a lot more to go. Buffett is the same way. I also buy any Haggard or Waylon albums that I don’t have if I can find them cheap or used or cheap and used on ebay.

  6. cowboybleau permalink*
    January 7, 2009 12:28 am

    Other than his GH album, I also have all of Dierks Bentley’s albums. Chesney is another one I want to collect too, I have everything past his GH’s. I only need one more of Joe’s albums, Revelation, to have his entire collection too, as he doesn’t count his very first album before his major label success, neither do I.

  7. January 7, 2009 2:08 am

    I should add Hal Ketchum and Trisha Yearwood to my list.

    I have the three Dierks albums as well. I’m looking forward to the fourth. I guess there was one before his mainstream success that I don’t have though.

  8. bobby permalink
    January 7, 2009 3:43 am

    I’m trying to collect more older albums now, but I don’t really have any complete collections yet. I’m working on Patty Loveless. I have about five of hers. And some of the newer artists I have all of theirs, like Keith Urban, but they don’t have that many to begin with. I’m also working on my Trisha Yearwood collection. After I get a few albums by a singer, I like to wait a little while until I buy more so I can really listen to the ones I have. I just got Trisah Yearwood’s “hearts in Armor” cd and I like it so much that I’m going to wait a few months to get another so I can appreciate it as much as possible.

  9. January 7, 2009 1:43 pm

    I have the complete discographies (Excluding GH albums) of:

    Reba
    Shelby Lynne
    Trisha Yearwood
    Sara Evans
    Martina McBride
    Lee Ann Womack (Though I can’t find her two first albums. I must’ve lost them.)
    LeAnn Rimes
    Jo Dee Messina
    Faith Hill
    Several artists with only a few albums (Josh Turner, Josh Gracin, Jimmy Wayne, Julie Roberts ect.)

  10. January 7, 2009 4:07 pm

    I have all of Urban’s and Martina’s albums. I don’t know if I’ll get Martina’s next album though. I wasn’t impressed with Waking Up Laughing at all. I think I just bought it to keep my collection complete. I have all of Brad Paisley’s albums, but I haven’t taken the plunge of buying Play yet. I’m not really a fan of it, but I don’t hate it enough to not buy it so that my collection is complete. I’m not in a hurry to get it though.

  11. January 7, 2009 4:25 pm

    I guess Play is an aquired taste huh. Anyways I have the same feelings about Waking Up Laughing, but if “Ride” provides any evidence as to the excellence of her upcoming project compared to her last one, I’m all for Martina’s work.

  12. January 7, 2009 10:25 pm

    I don’t really like “Ride”. Surprise, surprise. I prefer her stuff from the Wild Angels and the ones prior to it.

  13. January 8, 2009 4:51 am

    Ok excluding Greatest Hits, and anybody with 3 or less albums…

    Blake Shelton
    Brad Paisley
    Chris Cagle
    Cross Canadian Ragweed
    Deana Carter
    Dierks Bentley (well I preordered his new one so I’m counting it…)
    Dixie Chicks
    The Duhks (though I’ve lost their first)
    Faith Hill
    Gary Allan
    George Canyon
    Hank Williams III
    Jason McCoy
    Jo Dee Messina
    Joe Nichols
    Kasey Chambers
    Keith Urban
    LeAnn Rimes
    Lee Ann Womack
    Little Big Town (if you count the re-release)
    Marilyn Manson (friends get me into wierd things)
    Martina McBride (completley different from the one above eh?)
    Mary Chapin Carpenter (I think anybody know how many she has?)
    Mindy McCready (had I’m Not So Tough but it’s been long gone when a cousin borrowed it)
    Ryan Adams
    Sara Evans
    Shaina Twain
    SHeDAISY
    Shooter Jennings
    Terri Clark
    Trisha Yearwood
    The Wilkinsons
    Wynonna Judd

    Currently hunting down Tim Mcgraw, Dwight Yoakam and Patty Loveless…Then I want to start on my Suzy Bogguss collection.

  14. January 8, 2009 1:08 pm

    Jordan reminds me of other complete discographies that I have:

    Wynonna Judd
    Darrell Scott
    Gary Allan
    Kasey Chambers
    Hank Williams III

    (There are a lot of artists with just 2 or 3 albums that I have too)

Leave a Reply

