Skip to content

You Had A Bad Day….

January 4, 2009

We all have them…those horrible days you wish you could just escape the world simply by blanking everything out. However it’s not so easy to rid ourselves of the troubles that life and reality can bring. Some turn to drinking, others to films, some to a lot of sleep and solitude, I personally depend on country music to help me through these problems, depending on the mood I’m in.

So in my hopefully productive attempt to strike up some actual responses on this sight I will heat up the website’s discussion segment by asking you guys what songs you depend on to get you through your worst days. I can name quite a few:

  • “What I Cannot Change” by LeAnn Rimes
  • “Ride” by Martina McBride
  • “Live This Life” by Big & Rich
  • “Up” by Shania Twain
  • “No Way Around A River” by Phil Stacey
  • “Bring On The Rain” by Jo Dee Messina

These are just a few and know I’m missing many of them. So I pose this question and I hope you guys respond (because I’d like to this more often):

What songs help you get through a really really bad day? 

8 Comments leave one →
  1. SamB permalink
    January 4, 2009 1:15 pm

    Really nice post 🙂

    I tend to listen to miserable songs when I’m feeling miserable, so at the moment it’s a lot of Kathy Mattea!

  2. AdamA permalink
    January 4, 2009 2:49 pm

    I don’t really care much what the song is about when I’m down, as long as it makes me feel better:

    – All I Can See, Brendan James (great song for a road trip!)
    – I’m Gonna Miss Her, Brad Paisley (that last line of the chorus never fails to crack me up!)
    – But for the Grace of God, Keith Urban
    – Austin, Blake Shelton (sweet sentiment)
    – A Little More You, Little Big Town (feel-good song)
    – Risk, Paul Brandt (feel-good song, inspiring message)
    – Moments, Emerson Drive (depressing at first, but it really gets you goin’ as it moves on)
    – Good Man, Josh Ritter (OK, not country..but you can’t stop seem to stop yourself singing the chorus once it comes on)

    and the list goes on..but for some strange reason, even though I love country music, that growing list expands mostly into the folk, indie category…

  3. wtgm3 permalink
    January 4, 2009 7:04 pm

    I listen mostly to praise and worship music, but I love Phil Stacey’s cd. His “No Way Around a River” is an appropriate one, because he intended with the song to show that we all have someone around who is of some kind of support when we are going through a hard time. Even now, my family and I have been hit with some of the most terrible colds and flus and such you can have, and a song he recorded with the Young People’s Chorus of New York City is very uplifting. It is called “Where Are My Angels” and is available through the YPC and also through amazon.com . Check out coolsideofyuletide.com for more info. The cd is a holiday one, but the song Phil performs can be listened to at any time throughout the year. The song was originally a poem, written after the tragic death of mother-in-law of the YPC’s director, I believe.

  4. nmf permalink
    January 4, 2009 7:54 pm

    I was glad to see you included Phil Stacey’s “No Way Around a River” in your list. That’s what I listen to most during those hard days. It reminds me that help is always present even when I feel most alone.

  5. January 5, 2009 4:24 pm

    Terri Clark’s “No Fear” always makes me feel better when I’m feeling down, it’s my favorite song by her and the message is a great one.

  6. J.R. Journey permalink
    January 6, 2009 8:11 pm

    Sorry for stealing your discussion. But your post is better than mine, so you won. 🙂

  7. cowboybleau permalink*
    January 7, 2009 12:15 am

    It’s all good J.R. you guys did a good job too.

  8. Kent permalink
    January 7, 2009 2:14 am

    I find depressing songs typically make me feel worse when I listen to them, yet I have an irresistible urge to listen to them when I’m feeling down. Some of these songs include:

    Jonas Brothers – Please Be Mine
    McFly – Down Goes Another One
    David Archuleta – Desperate
    David Archuleta – You Can
    David Archuleta – Crush

    But them, after I’ve allowed myself to feel worse, it’s usually a good idea to switch to upbeat, fast, happy, infectious songs to turn the tide around.

Leave a Reply

