Skip to content

Single Review: “Good Lord Willing” by Little Big Town

January 2, 2009

I don’t know why, but every time I hear something new from Little Big Town I like them even more and more. Having recently moved to Capital Records and had a re-release of their third album A Place To Land, the band wrote a recorded a new song for the re-release that has become the third single from the album, “Good Lord Willing”.

Of course everyone loves a good song about taking chances and putting your neck on the line. I mean look at the success of  “What Was I Thinkin'” by Dierks Bentley. This is one of those songs with a catchy hook, upbeat and enjoyable tempo, and topping it all of is the band’s fabulous four part harmony led, contrary to my album review, by Jimi Westbrook. While their more mid-tempo and artistic presentations have shown how good this band is as a group of true artists, this song allows them to let loose and show themselves off as true entertainers. They may be the underdogs right now, but if they keep doing things right like this they may have a shot at scoring some big awards and making themselves a lasting name in the business.

Grade: A-

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Chris D. permalink
    January 3, 2009 4:12 am

    I love this song so much, I’ve been meaning to do a single review for it myself, maybe I still will. I love the dobro in the song, it’s so cool, and the vocals are perfect tone for the song. They deserve the success that Rascal Flatts has…

  2. January 5, 2009 9:44 pm

    We need LBT back into the top ten, stat!

Leave a Reply

