Skip to content

Blogs I Love

December 16, 2008

I know some of these same blogs I’m about to mention have done exactly the same thing I am about to do, but in the spirit of the year’s end I thought it would be cool to give some credit to blogs that I enjoy reading. Many of the people responsible for these blogs have helped me come a long way in a year with my own here at Country Music Central. So here are a few that I think you should check out, most of the them are on my blogspot.

 

Country Central: Just for fun I tried to find my own site one day by searching for it and in the process came across this interesting site. It’s not really formatted as a blog, but the guys at Country Central have the most updated list of singles, videos and albums releases I have ever seen. On top of that they have their own top 20 countdown which is pretty cool and is completely original from the ideas of contemporary radio charts.

Country Mike: Mike is a pro journalist who writes for Country Standard Time in his own news page. Mike was very supportive of me when I was getting off my knees and onto my feet with this blog. Mike has his own way of approaching things that comes from both a fan’s and a critic’s point of view which makes the whole reading experience simple, but effective.

Country Universe: These guys are the best. It’s because of Kevin that I was able to put this blog together. These guys always have some interesting things to say about my entries and about the genre itself from their views with daily discussions and album and single reviews ranging from Willie Nelson to Big & Rich in diversity. Although we often disagree, I’d be lying if I said that these guys didn’t rub off on me a little.

Mighty Country: A regular commenter on my blog, Jordan runs Mighty Country which takes a more simplified look at the genre from a fan’s perspective more than a critics. That’s not to say Jordan doesn’t have his share of things to say about the direction the genre is going, but it’s always interesting to read his material because he takes into consideration the old, the new, the popular, the unpopular, the American and even the foreign when he talks about the music. I’ve discovered some of my favorite under-appreciated artists from reading his commentaries.

My Kind Of Country: These guys are brand new to the country music blogging world, but they talk like they’ve been doing it for years. The boys at My Kind Of Country take into consideration their own preferences rather than shooting down what others enjoy. While this could seem bias it actually filters out all the controversy and arguing for a peaceful and enjoyable blog.

The 9513: Sometimes I hate these guys with a passion, while other times I embrace their individualistic views on modern country music. Everyone I know follows this blog and it is one worth the time. Filled with a mix of controversy, history, and respect for the genre, you can find just about anything you’re looking for at The 9513.

Roughstock: I enjoy where these guys like to go. They tend to avoid any real arguments and are a little more lenient than others, but they are factual and provide legitimate support for their opinions. If you want to explore every corner of the modern country music world this is the place to do it, from albums to singles and even to the latest news and stories fresh off the press.

Country Standard Time: Mike writes for these guys and he turned me on to the site. Rather than focusing purely on singles and albums, there are more news and headlines to help you stay connected with the world outside of the music in country music.

 

If you guys have any you think I should add to this list or look into please feel free to point me in the right direction.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. December 17, 2008 1:43 am

    Awesome! Congratulations for doing this for almost a year now! I believe we entered the blogging world at almost the same time?

  2. December 17, 2008 1:58 am

    Almost LeAnn. I began in Feb. this year and you became co-writer for Country Universe not long before or after that. I can’t wait to see where this goes next.

  3. December 17, 2008 3:04 pm

    I’m generally bad at keeping up in the blog world, but congrats on a great year and I look forward to the final entries on the “soldier songs” countdown and to seeing your “best of” list.

  4. December 17, 2008 3:30 pm

    Thanks for the shout out, Jason. We wouldn’t be doing our job if we didn’t make you think, so I’m glad to see you get riled up every once in awhile.

  5. December 18, 2008 7:11 am

    Thanks for the mention loving the soldier list glad to see the Chicks at #2 (hmm who could be #1? 🙂 )

    P.s. sorry for the long eras in between my posts on my site I’m really terrible at keeping up with that. (hmm new years resolution?)

  6. Chris D. permalink
    December 20, 2008 8:46 pm

    Thanks for the mention! I’m glad our blog is “peaceful and enjoyable”!

  7. Kristin permalink
    January 3, 2009 6:57 am

    Thanks for giving a shout-out to my pal’s page over at Country Central. Haven’t talked to him in a little while, but to the best of my knowledge he’s still running it himself and has been for the last 6-7 years. I think he’s in school now too, which explains the bare bones nature of the site. He lives in Canada, so if you don’t recognize some of the bands, might want to Google them or check out CMT Canada for info.

  8. January 4, 2009 7:06 am

    I actually have been Kristin. I enjoy getting to know some of the Canadian artists as well. I’ve become a huge fan of George Canyon. The site it real helpful, it helps me keep up with my records and keep track of important release dates.

Leave a Reply

