Skip to content

Single Review: “Brothers” by Dean Brody

October 18, 2008

A few years ago the most popular strategy for a singer was to tackle the emotional tribute to the soldier. Many songs have tackled the overall service of a soldier to their country, their people, their parents, but very seldom does a country balled focus on the connection between siblings, especially when it comes to a soldier.

For his debut from Broken Bow records Dean Brody does just that. He takes country music where it hasn’t been for quite a long time, into the depths of sibling love. Brothers are often stereotyped as rivals and enemies. However Dean shoves this aside and reveals a well written and well performed balled through the eyes of a man forced to watch his brother go to war and leave him behind.

So what is so impressive and unique about this song other than it being a soldier story between brothers? The emotion that accompanies the story. Brody takes the connection between the two brothers and just lays it out holding nothing back and is unafraid to even go as far as to allow the two say they LOVE each other. The bond the brothers share is reminiscentof traditional stories of love between a couple, between a child and parent, and even between a man and God that have formed the platform of the genre. The lyric shows a true feel for how close two brothers can be, especially when one is laying his life on the line for the other back home. A brilliant way to tug at the heartstrings a reveal a true sense of artistic integrity and connection to ones works don’t you think?

The one and only aspect of this song that holds it back from being an unstopable force is the crappy production done by Broken Bows faltering artistry.

Grade: A-

listen: www.myspace.com/deanbrody

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2008 4:49 pm

    Well I listened to it and I’ve got to say that I like it. I don’t know wether it’ll be a hit or not but I really like it. Hopefully it makes it big because his other material isn’t doing much for me.

  2. william davidson permalink
    October 21, 2008 12:01 am

    This song is one of the greatest songs I have ever heard it hit me like a tone of bricks even though my brother dident go to the millitary but I could imagine if he had it probly would have been the same for me this song should go to number one and stay there becouse this one is gonna be hard to beat it is the most factaul song out to date I love it and I will keep on listning to it and I will continue to get those knots in my throte thank u dean for releaseing this song

  3. Anonymous permalink
    December 20, 2008 3:27 am

    My brother is in Iraqi and I’ve never cried as hard the first time I heard a song as I did this one. Amazing.

  4. bill permalink
    December 21, 2008 5:54 am

    I am a disabled veteran and have four younger brothers. The song sent chills through me. If Dean Brody continues to make songs like this, look out Nashville and the USA. Outstanding song!

  5. sandy kramer permalink
    April 10, 2009 4:57 am

    My grandson is 16 and he told me likes your song and video so he played the song for me and i love it. My daughter has got to no some service men and women and she has put some dinner on for them and raised money for them they just had left for Iraqi and she has got us involved in there lives and they are so proud to serve ther country and i a’m so proud of her.So keep up the good work and god bless you. Thank you, Sandy,Tammy,542nd Troop’s

Leave a Reply

