Skip to content

Discussion: Videos That Ruined Songs

October 6, 2008

In connection to my earlier post about songs being made better by videos, it occurs to me that this can work the other way around as well. Not all videos actually work out well for a song. I fact sometimes a badly done video can destroy a song.

I can name a few songs that fit the bill. The videos for “I Got You” by Craig Morgan and “I Do” by Jewel really didn’t help me enjoy the songs much. Craig’s song was among one of my favorites from him, but I found the video rather thrown together and pointless for actually projecting any real meaning to the song. For “I Do”, it was mostly showing off flashy cars and Jewel’s awkward flirtatious personality that had been hidden up to that point.

 

So again I ask you guys, have any of you ever had a song spoiled by its video?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 7, 2008 2:33 am

    I acutally really liked the video for Jewel’s “I Do” I thought it was well done, to each his own I guess. I found that the video for Julie Robert’s “Men & Mascara” really took away from the song, it wasn’t shot all that well either.

Leave a Reply

