Skip to content

A Look Back: Re-Done Reviews

October 3, 2008

Now that I have been in this for a few months, I took a look back at some of my reviews of singles from the past and I found that for some of them, for better or worse, I have straight out changed my tune. After further review of the songs and giving them an opertunity to actually work their magic I can safely stand here and say that I was wrong on the following five songs. I took the five reviews that I was most disapointed in and decided to re-grade the songs here with short explinations as to why they are de-graded or upgraded. Enjoy…and for the record this is the one and ONLY time I will be doing this.

 

“Love Story” by Taylor Swift

This is the newest in this list of five. When first approached this song really does show off the limitations of Taylor’s vocals, but she is a teenager. She is still a developing artist and with her age and her acomplishments it actually comes off as a breath of fresh air to humanize her and show some vulnerability. In addition this is by far a masterpiece in songwriting from an artist like her and it’s actually quite catchy. Most of the these qualities, as you may have read in my past post, are really hard to catch without the help of the video, but given an opeertunity it is actually a respectable ofering.

Past Grade: C    New Grade: B

“Bob That Head” by Rascal Flatts

This is one of the two I am downgrading. This song, plain and simple, was not only a horrible attempt by them at fitting in with the pop-country crowd yet again, but it just gets more and more annoying everytime it’s played on the radio. Even as a Flatts fan myself I personally see this as the worst song I’ve ever heard from them.

Past Grade: D-   New Grade: F

“Let Me Love You” by Lonestar

This was one of my favorites early in the year. However, as more material from other artist have come out this song pails in comparison to what the band is capable of. It was a nice breath of fres air to hear their new sound and their new singer, and this song is catchy and upbeat…however it does not shine as brightly as I originally thought in this new competative world of country music.

Past Grade: A   New Grade: B-

 

“Kristofferson” by Tim McGraw

Starting off I had few bad grades. By reading other reviews I willingly admit I saw an oppertunity to post a bad grade with a big artist just for fun. Now that I have shifted from those influences and established my own outlook on the genre this song actually comes off as a nicely done traditional-sounding tune with full respect to Tim and his idol Kris Kristofferson.

Past Grade: C-   New Grade: B-

 

“Love Remembers” by Craig Morgan

The last change is with Craig’s latest tune. This tune originally came off as confusing and jumbled, but given a good listen it is actually a song about how you can’t hide from the love you made and fealt in the past…it will always haunt you and never let you forget. While it’s not the best offering from Graig it is catchy, enjoyable and deserving of more respect than a C+.

Past Grade: C+   New Grade: B

5 Comments leave one →
  1. bobby permalink
    October 3, 2008 5:42 pm

    I like the idea of going back and re reviewing songs! It’s interesting to see how opinions of songs can change over time.

  2. October 4, 2008 2:32 am

    Thanks Bobby. Nie to hear people arn’t trashing me for this idea, maybe it won’t be the ONLY time I do this.

  3. October 4, 2008 2:36 am

    Thanks Bobby. Nie to hear people arn’t trashing me for this idea, maybe it won’t be the ONLY time I do this.

  4. Leeann Ward permalink
    October 4, 2008 9:15 pm

    There are plenty of times that I wish I could change my grades too. You’re right that a song often either grows on you or gets old after time. I think this is a fun idea. The important thing is to stay true to what you really think about a song, no matter what pressure you may feel from other reviewers’ opinions. You’re filling a good niche here, since you embrace the sounds of today’s country music. There are tons of people who agree with you and need a place to voice it.

  5. October 19, 2008 11:19 pm

    I have to agree with all the changes except Kristofferson, that’s a wretched song IMO. The Craig Morgan song has very much grown on me recently and I think it’s all about his emotional performance of the material.

Leave a Reply

