Skip to content

Single Review: “I Will” by Jimmy Wayne

September 27, 2008

Now I’m a huge fan of Jimmy’s, I was thrilled to see his career make a comeback. However, that trill may not last to much longer. The reason…him and/or his label choosing this as the next song off of his sophomore album.

This is far from the best on the album, in fact it’s one of a couple songs that take away any hope of glory the project has. As Jimmy tries to express undying and devoted love to his woman, using the fact that he will do anything for her, the production attempts to combine modernized country and dumbed down pop for a sound that actually ends up really confusing way out there for Jimmy. It just doesn’t work. The sentiment is nice, Jimmy’s voice is great, the song itself, including production, is not.

Grade: D+

4 Comments leave one →
  1. NCgirle permalink
    October 6, 2008 3:17 pm

    Actually, “I Will” grabbed me the first time I heard it. It is one of my favorite songs on the CD.

  2. Steve permalink
    October 22, 2008 1:55 am

    Wow… Did you get it wrong. This song and the production blow me away. I give this review a F- and Jimmy Wayne and the song an A. Keep on turning out the hit’s Jimmy. Way to go!

  3. Carol permalink
    October 22, 2008 1:58 am

    Cowboyblew really blew this review. Jimmy’s record is my favorite this year! Grammy on the way Mr. Wayne! I love the way this whole record sounds.

  4. cowboybleau permalink*
    October 28, 2008 2:13 am

    Thanks for the comments guys, its refreshing to hear some people actually disagree with me for once without choping my head off.

    Jimmy’s a great artist and the album grows on me the more I listen to it, I just think they’re’s better material to be offered from it. “Kerosene Kid” or “One On One” would have been my pick for his new single personally.

Leave a Reply

