Skip to content

Discussion: Videos That Trump The Song

September 27, 2008

If you follow country music really close you will realize that there are three aspects to an artist’s success, the album, the video, and, of course, the song. Sometimes a song is just too good for a video, other times when a video is attempted it comes out sloppy or underdone. Others, like “Before He Cheats” or “Waitin’ On A Woman”, are given just enough detail that both the song and the video shine bringht to the crowd.

However on rare ocasions the video for a song can end up much better than even the song itself. It is rare, but everyone hastheir own opinion of good and bad when relating the two. When I think of this I think Taylor Swift’s new video, “Love Story”. When I first reviewed the song I shot it down, but the video actually made me enjoy it more as a fan and everytime I hear the song the video rings in my head, notthe words. The video contains Taylor and Nashville Star’s “underwear boy” falling in love in a fantasized “Romeo & Juliet” type backdrop, complete with fancy cloths, dancing and intimacy between the two. Take a look for yourself below.

So I pose the quesion to you, have you ever seen a video that shined so much that it trumped the song or even made you a fan when you originally hated it?

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2008 3:21 pm

    Well other than this one I found that Brad Paisley’s “Online” was a really boring and bland song that was made better by the video. I can’t listen to “Online” without watching the video at the same time.

  2. KathyP permalink
    September 29, 2008 3:48 pm

    “Kerosene.” I couldn’t listen to that song on radio. Really disliked it until I saw the video. After that I went out and bought the album and now consider Miranda my favorite female singer.

  3. Gail permalink
    September 29, 2008 7:40 pm

    Sugarland’s All I Wanna Do. Wasn’t that crazy about the song until I saw the video! I enjoy watching Jennifer Nettles and her many different facial expressions and I thought the video was just entertaining. Also, Jordan, I feel that way about everyone of Brad’s songs. Most of his songs are so boring (except I do love that new one he duets with Keith Urban)! I heard Nan Kelly interview Keith on the Grand Ole Opry and he said that he and Brad will be doing a video for that song!

Leave a Reply

