Skip to content

Single Review: “Everything Is Fine” by Josh Turner

August 10, 2008

Josh has always been on top of my list for best newcomers of the new century. His bass vocals and his songwriting talent are both forces to be reckoned with. What we have here is a classic example of how, but not an example of why.

Josh has has some memorable hits that span two #1’s and his debut smash “Long Black Train”. This time around Josh uses the title and third track of his latest album to basically explain how good the world is right now through his eyes and try to instill optimism where it lacks in society today. It works wonderfully, but this song is just ordinary in relation to works like “Long Black Train” and “Would You Go With Me”. Still, it makes for some decent good old fashion acoustic country in a radio world dominated by many new age sounds these days.

Grade: B+

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Leeann permalink
    August 10, 2008 7:13 am

    Pretty Much how I feel about it, though I’ve never liked “Would You Go With Me” much.

  2. Linda permalink
    August 17, 2008 8:08 pm

    I love Josh Turner. He has two catagories of songs as for as I am concerned, Songs I absolutely love, and songs that I really like. All it takes for me to really like a song is to hear his wonderful voice sing it. Everything is fine falls into the catagory of Love. I know the reason why.

  3. Jordan Stacey permalink
    August 18, 2008 4:07 pm

    I wish that he was releasing “The Longer The Waiting” instead but this will most likely do well for him. For me though it gets a little boring after repeated listening. B for me.

  4. Gary permalink
    February 3, 2009 3:23 pm

    Josh is my favorite singer. Unfortunately, I really don’t care for this song. To me, it gets tedious, and it’s a little too optimistic. I’m also a nice Jewish boy, and I don’t appreciate the religious overtones (someone getting baptized). I’m sure a lot of people would disagree with me; I simply think John has done better, much better.

Leave a Reply

