Skip to content

Single Review: “What If It All Goes Right” by Malissa Lawson

August 6, 2008

Nashville Star has crowned a winner and for whatever reason they went back to the process that they personally claim is a reason for their consistent failures. They have decided to push winner Malissa Lawson right onto the scene. This powerhouse may not have the fast paced performance quality to make her much more of an artist than any ordinary karaoke, but she has the vocals to blow your average dreamer to the ground and decent stage presence that makes her noticeable in her own way.

Of course John Rich, who I am not really fond of, will be producing the project, and with him and NS pushing her career it is no surprise that Lawson’s debut single is an attempt to inspire potential contestants to go for the gold on the show by targeting how everyone can always be a pessimist, its just human nature, but what if you’re wrong and everything goes right? Why not take that chance, whats the worst that could happen other than you stay right where you are in this world.

Minus the probability that this is an advertisement for the show, this song is decent at best. Nashville Star’s winners need a run away hit to burst them to the top of there game and I’m not quite sure this is it. Malissa could have a future here, but she needs to make her own image not what the show wants. This song makes a great impression of her voice, but is quite forgettable in the end and even in fans enjoy it it won’t stick to well with the higher powers of the music industry which is to bad because she really does deserve a better shot than this.

Grade: C

Listen at www.CMT.com

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Darlene permalink
    August 7, 2008 1:16 am

    I simply feel that America voted for the wrong person to win this competition. Gabe Garcia IS country and has the voice to outperform Malissa hands down. I feel Gabe will be around for a long time. I’m looking for his CD’s but will never buy Malissa’s music … just another loud voice belting out words.

  2. August 8, 2008 8:21 am

    I like Melissa, but I’m having my doubts as to whether she’ll make any kind of impact. It’s not so much her physical image that I think will give her trouble, but her vocal image. She doesn’t stand out from the current pack vocally and I think that it may hurt her chances.

  3. Laura permalink
    August 17, 2008 5:45 am

    I think she is AWESOME I just watched her on GAC opry & she was fantastic . she sang absolutely beautifully !!

  4. Jordan Stacey permalink
    August 18, 2008 4:09 pm

    Though I still think she will struggle I have to admit the song is growing on me. It’s neither a particularly well written song nor a particularly vocally interesting one, but I’m starting to like it more than I initially did. C for me.

  5. August 21, 2008 12:33 am

    malissa is a great singer. she is a beautiful girl and has her act together. i think she will go far in her career. i just hope she remembers that she has kids that need her too. i wish her the best of luck. i for one will be buying all of her music.

Leave a Reply

