Skip to content

Single Review: “Just A Dream” by Carrie Underwood

July 9, 2008

When you’re hot, you’re hot. Carrie Underwood has had everything up to this point that is needed to define an artist, attitude, stamina, beauty and grace, a great voice, exposure, and feeling behind every word of her endless #1 streak of hits. What she needed to complete her star powered perfection is a powerful, tear-jerking and sentimental song that is so strong yet so delicate it is borderline perfection. That is this song.

“Just A Dream” may seem like a strange song at first, but given a few listens and some attentiveness it is revealed that this very powerful balled tells the story of a woman who believes she is heading to her wedding with her lover who has been at war only to find she was actually going to his funeral. As you can imagine, the scene unravels for the character like a bad dream, to put it better a real nightmare. Carrie supports the lyrics with her most powerful vocal performance to date, not only showing that she is the entire package once and for all, but showing just how much pain, confusion and suffering is being felt by the woman in the song.

SO to put it simply Carrie Underwood has made a huge step into unquestionable country music superstardom with this one. No doubt she will have another very deserving #1 with this one.

Grade: A+

Listen: www.myspace.com/carrieunderwood

28 Comments leave one →
  1. charley permalink
    July 10, 2008 3:32 am

    This song is horrible. It sounds just like every other ballad she has ever done ! She has character. But her music dosent.

    • Anonymous permalink
      September 18, 2009 8:22 pm

      you can die.

      • Anonymous permalink
        September 18, 2009 8:22 pm

        cause this song is beautiful.
        and your stupid.
        k?

      • Anonymous permalink
        January 9, 2011 2:21 am

        AGREEE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
        so true!

    • Rachelle permalink
      January 9, 2011 2:19 am

      whatever!!!!!!!!!!!!! the song’s great! she’s amazing

    • Anonymous permalink
      January 9, 2011 2:20 am

      get a life!

    • Anonymous permalink
      January 27, 2014 8:29 am

      what this song is awesome!!!!

    • Anonymous permalink
      May 21, 2016 2:27 am

      I think that her music is good and so is she. But you should just keep opinion to your self. Because other people like this song and can relate to this song and other songs that she sings.

  2. bresenolouie permalink
    July 13, 2008 11:40 pm

    I stongly agree about your review except in the interpretation of the first verse. The first verse is a very strong dramatic musical cues. The writers used a “Flashback” – the young widow’s memories of their wedding day in the church, two weeks after the day she turned eighteen, at the doors of the church. This is BEFORE the church doors opened up wide and she put her veil down trying to hide the tears – this is when the funeral starts. In this funeral, the young widow is losing her husband, the inspiration of her life…She is losing her HOPES and DREAMS which started during that WEDDING DAY…She was counting on her husband forever for these HOPES and DREAMS and now, they are gone at this funeral…IT IS JUST SO PAINFUL TO DEAL WITH. This very strong dramatic musical cues was supported by lots of very powerful stuff in conveying the emotional pain and suffering of this young widow. LOTS OF TEARS FLOW THROUGH MY EYES because Carrie felt and captured the strength and the sincerity of this song and she did it with conviction. Her classic and tremendous vocals and the interplay of the instruments created a very strong emotional tension in this songs aesthetic, the emotional pain and suffering of losing a husband, the inspiration of your life, by this young widow.

  3. Dustin permalink
    July 31, 2008 6:17 pm

    I agree with the review and what bresenolouie had said! This is her best vocal performance and should last on top of the charts for a LONG TIME! Carrie is amazing!

  4. auntyk permalink
    August 28, 2008 6:44 pm

    i disagree with alll of you this is a true touching song and it is not like all her other songs

  5. September 14, 2008 7:46 pm

    This is a very touching song not like carrie’s others. and i think she does a very good job putting herself in the womans position seeing as how carrie has not ever been married

  6. Anonymous permalink
    December 31, 2008 11:45 pm

    I think her music is great, and I don’t care what anyone says, she has a lot more class than anyone puts on her. She is the ultimate best!!! Her music is incredible, and beautiful!

  7. liz permalink
    January 26, 2009 3:04 am

    love this song, yall are all just jealous!!!

  8. shelly permalink
    April 1, 2009 4:35 pm

    I strongly agree with bresenolouie. When I first heard this song,I didnt get much of its meaning but i already loved the rythm and Carrie’s emotion-filled voice. Then, one night I listened closely to the lyrics and realized the meaning. It made me cry. I love this song. I always loved Carrie’s songs but I think this one is one of her bests.

  9. Charlie permalink
    May 5, 2009 6:26 pm

    AMAZING. i love carrie and all her songs.

  10. bloggerhanz permalink
    September 24, 2010 12:34 pm

    “Just a dream” is one of my favourite songs by Carrie, and it got me both by the ear and by the heart – even when I heard it the first time! It’s just wonderful – the words, the music, the arrangement, the voice … It’s immensely moving!

  11. December 24, 2010 4:10 am

    Right on. It is far more informative and easy to understand. Thanks a lot such a nice guideline.

  12. LoveCanGrow permalink
    May 16, 2011 11:26 pm

    This song is actually very touching and close to the heart for me. I live in a military/army/navy family and many of my family memebers have died in combat and overseas, and it is very hard for these families. Some of my family members are still overseas and we all love them and want them home safely. This song speaks to me because of everything I have gone through in my life and what my family has gone through. I know this song speaks to many others and it is truly a life wrapped up in a song. Tears and smiles can come with this song. For me, its both. It brings me tears because of what has happened. Yet, it also brings me smiles because of all the memories with my family. This is my favorite song of hers. It brings me some faith when I need it.

  13. July 4, 2011 10:32 am

    hand blown glass chandelier,

  14. July 6, 2011 3:32 am

    A great song from Carrie, in fact one of my favorites

  15. doggy girl permalink
    May 2, 2012 1:25 pm

    i love this song completly obsesde when i heard it it felt like a bullet in my heart i was brought into tears when i got told what it was about so people i jsut want to tell you if you think this song is funny or fake like it cant happen you are wrong wrong wrong and messed up in the head my dad is in the military and i hope this never happens to him and that a solder bnever ever ever comes to my dads house and gives my step mom a letter of death! and i never want to see her with a folded up flag from his casket if i do people will see me in tears do you hear me so this is NOT a funny song got that

  16. August 3, 2013 5:40 pm

    Aw, this was a very good post. Taking the time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what
    can I say… I hesitate a whole lot and don’t manage to get nearly anything done.

  17. August 4, 2013 1:59 pm

    Hi, i believe that i noticed you visited my web site so i came to return the choose?
    .I am attempting to in finding things to enhance my site!
    I suppose its adequate to make use of some of your concepts!

    !

  18. August 5, 2013 9:44 am

    What’s up, I read your blogs regularly. Your story-telling style is witty, keep doing what you’re doing!

  19. September 30, 2013 5:25 pm

    Every weekend i used to pay a visit this web site, because i want enjoyment, as this this
    site conations actually pleasant funny stuff too.

  20. Anonymous permalink
    October 12, 2014 3:46 am

    this song really hits home 4 those of us that have had loved 1’s go 2 war & come back in a casket. As a former F.R.G. leader, I have watched SOOO many women plan their weddings only 2 have 2 plan their funeral.
    This song tells what 60% of Americans go through!

Leave a Reply

