Skip to content

Single Review: “I’ll Walk” by Bucky Covington

April 21, 2008

After a couple songs showing off the mid-paced range of Bucky’s vocal and performance prowess, it’s nice to hear a slower, more significant tune for a change. However that doesn’t allow it to escape its flaws.

The song goes through three stages of a storyline starting with a fight in a car between a couple. The girl decides to walk as a result of the fight with her boyfriend and a tragic accident puts her in the hospital where her legs are now immobile. To ease the suffering of her loved ones she promises to walk someday again and at her wedding to her boyfriend she proves that by painfully walking with her dad down the isle.

The song expresses a nice message and Bucky shows a lot of control and feeling in the song for what it is. The production however is a little questionable. In addition to that the emotion in the lyrics is a little dry as well as the story itself. There is not regret among the boyfriend, just tears of his girl’s situation, nor is there any other real power extending from the tragedy itself. As far as Bucky goes I think he handled the song quite well and despite common criticisms of him as a “mediocreAmerican Idol singer” he actually pulls this one off with a great deal of professional quality. I do think he needs a lot more work on his balleds than on his faster songs though. What takes away from this song is that it in itself expresses a decent message in mediocre songwriting that has been done much better times before. It actually hurts me to grade it down because I love the song, but there’s just not enough here to stand up to what else Bucky and his competition has to offer.

Listen: www.myspace.com/buckycovington

Grade: C

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2008 12:35 am

    I actually love this song. I did not like all that much the very first time I heard as I hate sad songs and slow songs in general but I have the CD and didnt skip it. The more I listen to it, the more I like it. It is sort of hard in 3 minutes of a story-telling song to tell the whole story. I think the song is very inspirational and uplifting and all about the girl her courage and not about the guy. But, you can hear the ;regret in his haunting voice but to me, the regret could be a whole different song. Anyway, I would certainly give it an “A”
    Beverly

  2. April 24, 2008 8:22 pm

    i’m like Beverly, i usually don’t like songs like that…but Bucky’s voice it’s so good in this song that it makes me wanna listen more…

    I would give an “B +”

    =]

  3. Maddie permalink
    August 1, 2008 2:28 am

    That song is amazing i love it its sad @first but at the end its amazing wen they get married!!!

  4. August 16, 2008 11:40 am

    I absolutly love this song. I can’t litsen to it and not cry. I am a Soldier in the Army, and it’s a really funny site to see this big, bad GI setting in her office litsening to country music in my office and I just break out in a cry. Keep going Bucky, I love it. Kelley

  5. Anonymous permalink
    August 29, 2008 1:47 pm

    THIS IS SO VERY TRUE FOR AS YOUNG WOMAN GOING THROUGH NOT WALKING RIGHT NOW. SHE IS HEADING TO REHAB TO HOPE TO WALK AGAIN. THIS IS HER SONG SHE IS TAKING WITH HER WHEN SHE LEAVES. SHE WILL WALK AGAIN. HAS WALKED A LITTLE WITH A WALKER BUT WILL WALK ON HER OWN WHEN SHE IS DONE WITH REHAB, GOD BLESS ALICIA

  6. Anonymous permalink
    September 6, 2008 11:45 pm

    You aren’t the only one Kelley. I also am a Army Warrior. I heard the song today for the first time, and it made me cry too, and I am a GUY. Big tough Infantry Soldier. Luckily I was in the car alone between North Fort Hood and main post so I wasn’t seen and didn’t have to catch any crap from my buddies. The last song to do that to me was Clay Walker’s “Chain of Love”. This one sounds pretty good, I think its a keeper. (Name witheld in case anyone from Fort Hood may be reading.)

  7. November 22, 2008 5:15 am

    i love that song it was great at first it was slow. then it was great even when they got married. it was great.

  8. November 24, 2008 1:08 am

    That song is fantatic.Once I heard it it was great.

  9. November 24, 2008 1:10 am

    That song is fantatic.Once I heard it it was great.ThE END

  10. February 7, 2009 10:21 pm

    you is so sweet you are real man i now that my dad would never stay with my mom he gets mad at her for just having the flue for 2 or 3 days it is rather sad i wish all guys were like this the song truly toched my hart and if it did that for a 13 year old girl emagen what it did for every boady elses the one thing is some people say there a fan but younever realy now unless they feel the music its one thing to hear it when you sing it makes my cry is makes me sing right along with you one thme i was lising on my i pod not noticing the crould around me i started to sing and dance thank goodnes i souned good any ways you are amazing i love you so mutch keep writing your soungs and never stop.

    ps. they need to play it on the raido more.
    love Jody Sullivan

Leave a Reply

