Skip to content

ACM Nominees: Thoughts and Predictions (Part 2)

March 4, 2008

Top New Female Vocalist
Sarah Buxton
Kellie Pickler
Taylor Swift

My pick: Sarah Buxton– She won’t win, but I can dream. Sarah has a very good voice and performance and a very bubbly personality. She’s just a very bright and appealing person and has a solid country vocal to her credit as well as bragging rights for her songwriting success. I’d love to see her win this award just for the hopes of her album being pushed more as well as her singles.

Likely Winner: Taylor Swift– I don’t wanna see any tears or surprise if she pulls this off. I mean after winning a CMA award, a CMT award and scoring a Grammy nomination all in the same type of category, why would it be any different here? She’s got this one in the bag.

Top New Duo or Vocal Group
Carolina Rain
Lady Antebellum
The Wreckers

My pick: Lady Antebellum – I just like these guys. They bring a very catchy vocal performance and debut single to the table. It may be to early to see if they are actually in the genre, cut and dry, but I think they deserve this one just so that they are accepted, no questions asked. I think there’s more to this group than people realize.

Likely Winner: Lady Antebellum or The Wreckers– There isn’t much to narrow down which of these two will take the award, but their fan following and attention on and of of radio put them well ahead of Carolina Rain so one of these two will win this award.

Album of the Year
5th Gear, Brad Paisley
Producer: Frank Rogers

Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Miranda Lambert
Producers: Frank Liddell, Mike Wrucke

Just Who I Am: Poets & Pirates, Kenny Chesney
Producers: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney

If You’re Going Through Hell, Rodney Atkins
Producers: Rodney Atkins, Ted Hewitt

Taylor Swift, Taylor Swift
Producers: Scott Borchetta, Nathan Chapman, Robert Ellis Orrall

My pick: Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, Miranda Lambert– I was very impressed with this album. Miranda defiantly shows off her never-ending songwriting prowess here and brings in a gentle variety of cross-over country and traditional and modern sound that has become her trademark. Miranda brings together easy listening and enjoyable lyrics into one of the years most critically acclaimed albums. It would be a shame to see such a highly successful piece of work go to waste.

Likely Winner: 5th Gear, Brad Paisley– Brad is a favorite in this category and this is one of his favorite categories to be in. The album brings in a mix of every emotion and sound that has made country music what it is as well as adding in his comical Kung-Pow skit and his traditional instrumental. Brad has found a system that works for him and I believe it will make this his award to win.

Single Record of the Year
“Don’t Blink,” Kenny Chesney
Producers: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney

“Famous in a Small Town,” Miranda Lambert
Producers: Frank Liddell, Mike Wrucke

“Lost in This Moment,” Big & Rich
Producers: Big Kenny, John Rich

“Stay,” Sugarland
Producers: Kristian Bush, Byron Gallimore, Jennifer Nettles

“Watching Airplanes,” Gary Allan
Producers: Gary Allan, Mark Wright

My pick: “Don’t Blink”, Kenny Chesney– This is the category I am least familiar with. However I do know that the songs that win this category possess a blend of success and power. This song does both. Kenny delivers one of his most powerful and successful performances to date that has touched people from all walks of life and spreads one of the most honorable messages that could have been put to words. It was my song of the year and its my single of the year.

Likely Winner: “Don’t Blink”, Kenny Chesney– With the chart success that this song had in its run on the charts, this is a no brainer. I wouldn’t count out any of the other #1’s in this category, but this song has the whole package that usually¬†brings a win in this category.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Simon permalink
    March 6, 2008 12:30 am

    I think your WAY off on the Top new duo or vocal group. Carolina Rain has had 2 top 30 songs and have been out for a few years……developing staying power. Lady Antebellum has much to prove yet, and the Wreckers don’t even exist anymore.

  2. Jerry permalink
    March 6, 2008 1:24 am

    For Top New Female Vocalist, I really don’t know who to chose here. Obviously Taylor will win, but I suppose if I had to chose I’d pick Kellie because I liked her first single. I agree about everything you said about Sarah, although I ain’t too sure about her voice. Maybe she sounds better on some of her other songs, but in “That Kind of Day”, she really sounded like she tried too hard and that messed up her vocals.
    For the Top New Duo or Vocal Group, I think Lady Antebellum probably has it, but The Wreckers are close. My pick would be Lady Antebellum, pretty much everything you said.
    I don’t know a lot about Album of the Year, but my pick would be Rodney Atkins, and I think he’s got a good shot since he’s had 4 straight #1 singles off it. For the likely winner, I think that every album has at least a small shot at winning, since I’m not real familiar with this category.
    And I agree with you for Single Record of the Year.

  3. cowboybleau permalink*
    March 6, 2008 1:25 am

    Thats the thing Simon, the other two have had top 20 hits and Carolina Rain had a poor start in comparison. I think they deserve it definatly, but I think Lady Antabelum may have it just because they have overshot Carolina Rain’s singles with their one and are still together trumping The Wreckers. However you are right that Lady Antabellum still have a lot to prove and The Wrckers are gone which gives Carolina Rain an edge of their own so this should be quite an award to see who win.

  4. Jerry permalink
    March 6, 2008 1:29 am

    I meant “but Carolina Rain is close”, not The Wreckers, for New Duo or Vocal Group.

  5. Simon permalink
    March 6, 2008 7:06 am

    Lady Antebellum just now has a top 20 song. In 2007 , they just had a top 30. And the judging is done for 2007 only.

  6. Maureen McCole permalink
    March 9, 2008 12:33 am

    I’d like to see King George win Male Vocalist of the Year. Also I’d like to see him knock down Kenny in EOTY category. Enough of Chesney. He’s so overrated.

Leave a Reply

